Aloha Friday 4.8.11

Welcome to the first “Aloha Friday”.  The newscasters in Hawaii refer to Friday (ahh beginning of the weekend) as Aloha Friday. It really doesn’t change anything about the day, as it’s not a holiday. It’s every Friday. But it’s essentially a vacation mentality I wish us “mainlanders” had. Though not all of us are lucky enough to reside in a tropical paradise, we too can have a bit of “aloha” in our lives. So I plan on using my Friday posts, Aloha Fridays, as a more open, free forum (not so strictly design oriented). Just things that interest and excite me.

So right after I’ve told you that Aloha Friday doesn’t always mean design, I’m going to really confuse the matter and start things off on a design oriented post. Aloha Friday also does NOT mean it will always be island related (as I said, it’s more a state of mind, than literally mai tai’s and waves). However, today’s post is both design and island related.

As I’ve mentioned, I’m getting married in Hawaii in May. I’ve always been intrigued by the vintage Hawaiian look. There’s something so classic about it. So I knew right away (and by right away I mean after we deliberated where the wedding would actually take place) I wanted our save-the-date to resemble a vintage Hawaiian postcard. I decided to use an actual image on the front after searching through countless terrible stock illustration. The fonts are some of my favorites (I won’t bore the masses, but if you’re interested, message me and I’ll tell you the names) and I think overall the look is exactly what we wanted. I’m all about the details. Though no one could see the “place stamp here” message under the stamp, I knew I wanted it to aid in authenticity. I was also quite pleased with the fact that the image chosen on the front is our actual venue, Hokulia. Using an image of the actual venue was an excellent way to excite guests.

Anyone need any save-the-dates designed? I’m available for hire and love doing them!

One Comment on “Aloha Friday 4.8.11”

  1. […] outcome, which is not the case when designing for yourself. I’ve shown the Save the Dates in this post, but I love the photos Toby Hoogs Photography took of them, so I’ve included them […]


Leave a Reply

