Our Hawaiian Wedding: The Invites & Collateral

I was really excited/nervous to do our wedding invites. There’s a lot of pressure on designing for weddings in general, so take that pressure, add to it that it’s my own wedding and top that off with the difficulty of designing for yourself (think picky) and you have one stressed designer. I think one of the things I was most excited about in doing my own invitations and collateral was that it would be an exact reflection of my style. When you complete projects for clients, clearly a lot of their taste and input affects the final outcome, which is not the case when designing for yourself. I’ve shown the Save the Dates in this post, but I love the photos Toby Hoogs Photography took of them, so I’ve included them first.

1. The wedding invitation. The bellyband (the brown wraparound) held in the directions and RSVP trifold (number 4) and return address envelope (the blue envelope underneath number 4) and the entire packet was mailed in the yellow envelope underneath the invitation.
2. Program
3. Save the Date
4. Directions & RSVP Trifold
5. Fun Facts/Menu

My overall vision for the invitations was to have something bright (we didn’t have “colors” per say, we just pulled some bright colors and played off the flowers), bold, and fun. I incorporated some Hawaiian words (and the accompanying translations), a logo with our initials (a version with the date and one without), and several additional elements (including custom rubber stamps for the return address and return envelope for the RSVP’s, a hemp string to tie a tag around a bellyband to hold all the elements together, and a beautiful heavy two-tone paper).

Back of the Invitation (the paper was a cream on one side and a light tan on the other, which gave a nice aged effect without having to print solid color on a side):

The Directions & RSVP trifold was designed so that the third panel was perforated to be torn off and mailed back to me (with responses for three events, instead of sending individual invitations). Additionally, this way the recipient could keep their directions and schedule of events, but I was able to print it all together.

Return Address Envelope (Note: all blanks where an address would be are intentional for this post): This was done with custom rubber stamps I made for both my address and for the logo to go on the flap. I later made a Caroline & Michael Simpson return address stamp for the thank you note envelopes.

A shot of the bellyband with the hemp and tag around the invitation:

Programs:

For the menu, I had seen a couple put some fun facts on the opposite side. We decided we loved the idea, but then had a pretty difficult time coming up with the facts. In the end, I think it was worth the extra effort. The last line was: “Caroline and Mike (especially Mike) are both surly hungry people. If you are too (or you’re just hungry), turn over for the menu.”

And to wrap it up, here is a glimpse of the Welcome Party cocktail napkins. I didn’t have any additional collateral at that party and this is actually a shot of it being used as a cocktail napkin for my “getting-ready” champagne.

Tomorrow I’m going to break down the welcome bags we gave guests. Hope everyone had a great weekend!


6 Comments on “Our Hawaiian Wedding: The Invites & Collateral”

  1. Tyler says:

    phenomenal! outstanding all around, neighbor!
    hope to see in september!
    -ty

  2. I loved your wedding! it was so perfect, not to mention a blast to see all the cool stuff you designed!

  3. Julie says:

    Perfecto!!! I loved it all and all your hard work really paid off! With warm aloha, momma


Leave a Reply

